« From Judith B. Prowda, Chair | Main | Report on the ABA Forum on the Entertainment and Sports Industries –Part II: “Clash of the Titans: Viacom v. YouTube – Will Copyright Law Undo Goggle’s Internet Juggernaut?” »

Message from Chair Judith B. Prowda

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Justice Barbara Jaffe as Co-Chair with Judith Bresler, Esq. and Gary Roth, Esq. of the Phil Cowan Memorial Scholarship Committee.

Justice Jaffe is an acting justice of the New York State Supreme Court. A long time member of the NYSBA, Justice Jaffe recently joined the EASL Section. She has represented the City Bar as a Delegate to the NYSBA's House of Delegates. She is on the Founding Faculty of the New York County Lawyers (NYCLA) Art Litigation and Dispute Resolution Institute and presently serves on NYCLA's Committee on Lesbians, Gays, Bisexuals, and Transgendered Issues. Justice Jaffe co-chairs the Professional Ethics and Discipline Committee of the New York Women's Bar and has served on its Board of Directors. She is also a member of the New York City Bar Association's Art Law Committee.

Judith Bresler is Of Counsel to Withers Bergman LLP, where her practice focuses on the law and business of art. She is co-author of the award-winning treatise Art Law: The Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers and Artists (First, Second and Third Editions) and Adjunct Professor at New York Law School. She is also a co-founder and Co-Chair of EASL's Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee.

Gary Roth is Assistant Vice President, Legal & Business Affairs, Performing Rights, of BMI. He oversees all matters relating to deceased BMI affiliates, as well as issues concerning levies, claims, divorces, assignments and other topics affecting royalty payments.

The Phil Cowan Memorial/BMI Scholarship was created by EASL, in partnership with BMI, in memory of Cowan, an esteemed entertainment lawyer and a former Chair of EASL. The Scholarship fund offers up to two awards of $2,500 each on an annual basis in Phil Cowan's memory to a law student who is committed to a practice concentrating in one or more areas of entertainment, art or sports law.

This year, for the first time, all students who submit a paper for consideration will automatically receive a free membership in EASL (with all the benefits of an EASL member) for a one year.

For information about the Scholarship, please visit http://www.nysba.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Law_Student_Writing_Competitions and http://nysbar.com/blogs/EASL/

Please join me in welcoming Justice Jaffe as Co-Chair of the Phil Cowan Memorial Scholarship Committee and look forward to many student submissions!

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)


This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on August 15, 2010 8:30 PM.

The previous post in this blog was From Judith B. Prowda, Chair.

The next post in this blog is Report on the ABA Forum on the Entertainment and Sports Industries –Part II: “Clash of the Titans: Viacom v. YouTube – Will Copyright Law Undo Goggle’s Internet Juggernaut?”.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.