« Week In Review | Main | Sports News for the Week of December 18th »

Theater News for the Week of December 18th

By Bennett Liebman

Stimulus talks could spill into weekend as lawmakers scramble to complete deal, https://www.washingtonpost.com/us-policy/2020/12/17/stimulus-checks-900-billion-relief-package/

Behind The Scene: David Weingarden on the Battle to Save Our Stages, https://relix.com/articles/detail/behind-the-scene-david-weingarden-on-the-battle-to-save-our-stages/

The Flea Theater Conflict Raises Questions of Equity and Exploitation, https://www.backstage.com/magazine/article/the-flea-theater-off-broadway-interviews-72294/

When Broadway comes back: 5 ways the pandemic will transform the live theater industry, https://fortune.com/2020/12/13/covid-live-theater-broadway-west-end-reopening-innovation/

What is the Future of Streaming Theater, https://www.backstage.com/magazine/article/virtual-streaming-theater-pandemic-2020-72309/

Bushnell Needs Aid to Survive Pandemic, https://www.courant.com/coronavirus/hc-coronavirus-bushnell-blumenthal-commerce-committee-save-our-stages-20201216-ttglp4xsnjhtnkkyqtb2ljkhf4-story.html

New York City Awards to Cultural Groups, https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/15/arts/nyc-arts-grants.html

UK Theatre Problems, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2020/dec/15/this-government-wrong-foots-british-theatre-at-every-step

Ann Reinking and Chicago, https://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/theater/chris-jones/ct-ent-ann-reinking-appreciation-jones-1218-20201216-ykxhvc2gwnczxe7fygdrl7zmxu-story.html

Ann Reinking Dies at 71, https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/14/theater/ann-reinking-dead.html

Shubert Organization Appoints Pamela Newkirk, https://deadline.com/2020/12/shubert-organization-pamela-newkirk-board-of-directors-broadway-diversity-inc-1234657765/

Manhattan West Includes Theater, https://deadline.com/2020/12/manhattan-west-development-midnight-theater-venue-broadway-connection-1234657665/

'Moulin Rouge' to Tour, https://deadline.com/2020/12/moulin-rouge-musical-national-tour-2022-1234657514/

Lin-Manuel Hopeful about Broadway, https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/lin-manuel-miranda-hopeful-broadway-140054334.html

Covid-19 and LA Cultural Institutions, https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/business/story/2020-12-17/covid-19-walloped-our-cultural-industries-some-may-never-be-the-same

Live Theater in Atlanta, https://www.ajc.com/things-to-do/live-theater-or-not-that-is-the-question/QVEUDZZC7BFFZD74V5NNH7MZGE/

Producers and Podcasts, https://www.forbes.com/sites/jerylbrunner/2020/12/13/how-this-visionary-producer-is-transforming-the-theater-podcast-landscape/?sh=586f4f2c5123

Actors Finding Work, https://www.cnbc.com/2020/12/15/how-out-of-work-broadway-actors-find-ways-to-earn-money-amid-pandemic.html

Changing the American Theatre, https://www.americantheatre.org/2020/12/16/change-in-the-american-theatre-begins-and-ends-outside-the-theatre/

AFTA Leader Robert Lynch on Leave, https://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/robert-lynch-afta-ceo-paid-leave/2020/12/16/b0bb617a-3fd1-11eb-8bc0-ae155bee4aff_story.html

Theater community takes on new roles during the pandemic, https://broadwaynews.com/2020/12/18/theater-community-takes-on-new-roles-during-the-pandemic/

Bumps on the Road From Broadway to Hollywood, https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/18/theater/broadway-film-adaptations.html

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on December 18, 2020 1:53 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Week In Review.

The next post in this blog is Sports News for the Week of December 18th.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.