« I Am Once Again Asking For Your Support: The Rise Of Another Bernie Meme And Its Seat In Copyright Law | Main | Sports Law News for Week of March 19th »

Theater News for the Week of March 19th

By Bennett Liebman

Theater Actors Step Up Push for Union to Allow Them to Work, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/03/19/theater/actors-equity-frustration-petition.html

Tourists Trickle Back to New York City, https://www.wsj.com/articles/tourists-trickle-back-to-new-york-city-11616100873

Royal George Theatre must empty, https://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/theater/chris-jones/ct-ent-royal-george-closing-chicago-20210319-7vdvx4rxq5esbencd2cpr4ccny-story.html

How NY PopsUp Aims to Get the Performing Arts Industry Back to Work, https://variety.com/2021/legit/news/ny-popsup-cuomo-ayodele-casel-1234933795/

Shakespeare in the Park to return, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/03/16/shakespeare-in-the-park-to-return-this-summer/

The Arts Are Coming Back This Summer, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/03/16/theater/summer-outdoor-performances.html?smid=tw-nyttheater&smtyp=cur

New York Raises the Curtain for Live Events, https://www.wsj.com/articles/new-york-raises-the-curtain-for-live-events-11615982401

Frustration Growing Among Actor's Equity Members, https://www.onstageblog.com/editorials/2021/3/18/frustration-growing-among-actors-equity-members-over-unions-covid-19-plan-or-lack-thereof

The Open Culture Program Faces Criticism From Actors' Equity, Thhttps://www.backstage.com/magazine/article/nyc-open-culture-program-actors-equity-72869/

Roundabout launches Refocus Project, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/03/17/roundabout-launches-refocus-project-to-diversify-theater-canon/

'It has been a sort of nightmare, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2021/mar/14/how-has-global-theatre-fared-during-pandemic-schaubuhne-internationaal-amsterdam-public-theater-new-york-odeon-paris-helsingborg

Michael Ball '100% backs' vaccine passport, https://www.itv.com/news/london/2021-03-18/michael-ball-100-backs-vaccine-passports-to-bring-audiences-back-to-the-west-end

Berlin Volksb├╝hne theatre director resigns, https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/mar/16/berlin-volksbuhne-theatre-director-resigns-over-harassment-claims

Save Our Stages gains additional funding, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/03/16/save-our-stages-gains-additional-funding-ahead-of/

Fighting Viral Hate With a Hashtag, https://www.americantheatre.org/2020/03/26/fighting-viral-hate-with-a-hashtag/

Where the Year Went, https://www.americantheatre.org/2021/03/11/where-the-year-went-a-look-back-and-forward/

Here are all the precautions one S.F. theater, https://datebook.sfchronicle.com/theater/here-are-all-the-precautions-one-s-f-theater-took-to-film-onstage-during-covid?fbclid=IwAR1UletNu9KHiQiyUjcB8M4gMCHTQ98Kw7o7zTjXZHdBfWZdOuCmUE3aOzg

U.K. Theaters Mark One Year of Shutdown, https://variety.com/2021/legit/global/west-end-theater-pandemic-one-year-anniversary-1234931476/

When stages are dark, theatre lives on in your memories, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2021/mar/15/theatre-magic-memory

Deadline 'Company' During The Covid Shutdown, https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/broadway-company-during-covid-shutdown-011722059.html

First Indoor Show in Loop?, https://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/theater/chris-jones/ct-prem-ent-teatro-zinzanni-reopens-chicago-20210316-oe3ctrtrivgybjnjbxzgefy67q-story.html

The Rise of Audio Theater During the Coronavirus Pandemic, https://www.backstage.com/magazine/article/how-audio-plays-have-changed-the-face-of-pandemic-theater-72871/

Sonia Friedman unveils season of West End plays, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2021/mar/12/sonia-friedman-west-end-gemma-arterton-emma-corrin?CMP=twt_a-culture_b-gdnculture

Texas Performing Arts, https://spectrumlocalnews.com/tx/san-antonio/coronavirus/2021/03/17/1-year-later--covid-19-has-decimated-the-performing-arts-in-texas-

A Year Without Broadway: Laura Benanti And Christopher Jackson, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tinOrb8x40


Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on March 19, 2021 1:44 PM.

The previous post in this blog was I Am Once Again Asking For Your Support: The Rise Of Another Bernie Meme And Its Seat In Copyright Law.

The next post in this blog is Sports Law News for Week of March 19th.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.