« Sports News for the Week of June 25th | Main | What is a Sub-publisher? Do I Need One? »

Theater News for the Week of June 25th

By Bennett Liebman

Nederlander Organization, Jujamcyn Theaters receive Shuttered Venue Operators grants, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/06/23/nederlander-organization-jujamcyn-theaters-receive-shuttered-venue-grants/

With New Show, a Broadway Rarity: Season Has 7 Plays by Black Writers, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/06/24/theater/chicken-biscuits-broadway-lyons-lewis-urie.html

Douglas Lyons' 'Chicken & Biscuits' Coming To Broadway, https://deadline.com/2021/06/douglas-lyons-chicken-biscuits-broadway-norm-lewis-michael-urie-1234780844/

New musical 'The Right Girl' to premiere at Proctors in the fall, https://dailygazette.com/2021/06/24/new-musical-the-right-girl-to-premiere-at-proctors-in-the-fall/

'I Needed It': A Well-Timed Outdoor Theater Opens on Little Island, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/06/21/theater/little-island-broadway-inspirational-voices.html

'A Level of Abuse': Laying Bare Theater's Dirty Secrets, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/06/23/theater/robert-ohara-torrey-townsend-off-broadway.html

The Music Man' on Broadway is not the musical we need, https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/story/2021-06-22/commentary-music-man-broadway-hugh-jackman

'Chicken & Biscuits' starring Michael Urie and Norm Lewis, https://www.newyorktheatreguide.com/news-features/michael-urie-and-norm-lewis-to-star-in-chicken-and-biscuits-on-broadway

'The Music Man' Announces Scott Rudin Replacement, https://variety.com/2021/legit/news/music-man-broadway-producer-replace-scott-rudin-1235002344/

Scott Rudin Avoided Answering for Abusive Behavior for Decades, https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/movies/movie-features/scott-rudin-abusive-behavior-1234972177/

New Project to Give Away $500,000 in Rent Relief to NYC Theater Artists, https://www.backstage.com/magazine/article/fundraiser-rent-relief-for-theater-artists-73519/?utm_campaign=organic&utm_content=creator%2Ccrew%2Cindustry-news%2Clink%2Cstock-misc%2Ctalent&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

AAPAC's New Theatre Diversity Study Underscores Prominence of White Leadership on NYC Stages, https://www.playbill.com/article/aapacs-new-theatre-diversity-study-underscores-prominence-of-white-leadership-on-nyc-stages

Black women playwrights claim a leading role, https://www.bostonglobe.com/2021/06/17/arts/black-women-playwrights-claim-leading-role/

America's Oldest Theater Wants This Philly Actress to Shut Up, https://www.phillymag.com/news/2021/06/14/walnut-street-theatre-bernard-havard-jenna-pinchbeck/

Andrew Lloyd Webber Sues U.K. Government to Show Live Events Research, https://variety.com/2021/legit/news/andrew-lloyd-webber-legal-action-uk-government-1235004242/#!

Civic life is under assault - theatres can play a vital role in restoring it, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2021/jun/21/theatre-change-civic-function-dan-hutton

How U.S. States Could Fund Repertory Resident Theatres, https://www.americantheatre.org/2021/06/21/how-u-s-states-could-fund-repertory-resident-theatres/

The theatre industry is right to go for legal action - it has no other choice, https://www.telegraph.co.uk/theatre/what-to-see/theatre-industry-right-go-legal-action-has-no-choice/

Theatre Training Programs Have Some Learning to Do, https://www.americantheatre.org/2021/06/23/educators-of-color-caught-in-institutional-inertia/

Biden Picks For Arts Council Include Ukulele Legend Jake Shimabukuro, https://deadline.com/2021/06/biden-arts-council-nominees-jake-shimabukuro-kamilah-forbes-1234781142/

NEA Offers Relief Funds to Help Arts and Culture Sector, https://www.arts.gov/about/news/2021/nea-offers-relief-funds-help-arts-and-culture-sector-recover-pandemic?utm_source=NEWS&utm_medium=TW&utm_campaign=NEWS_ARPGuidelines_TW

The Drive of Phylicia Rashad, https://www.americantheatre.org/2021/06/24/the-drive-of-phylicia-rashad/

Bureaucratic snafus shouldn't delay aid, https://www.startribune.com/bureaucratic-snafus-shouldnt-delay-aid/600070094/


Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on June 26, 2021 10:47 AM.

The previous post in this blog was Sports News for the Week of June 25th .

The next post in this blog is What is a Sub-publisher? Do I Need One? .

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.