« Sports News for the Week of August 20th | Main | Week In Review »

Theater News for the Week of August 20th

By Bennett Liebman

The arts are not immune to sexually abusive work environments, https://www.wbfo.org/2021/2021-08-13/theater-talk-the-arts-are-not-immune-to-sexually-abusive-work-environments

4 Accusers Speak Out About Broadway Star Alice Ripley, https://www.thedailybeast.com/4-accusers-speak-out-about-how-broadway-star-alice-ripley-traumatized-her-young-fans

With Hamilton, Disney, Wicked ticket sales slow, Broadway isn't back, https://www.cnbc.com/2021/08/14/with-hamilton-disney-wicked-ticket-sales-slow-broadway-isnt-back.html

Will audiences return to the Great White Way in September, https://www.amny.com/entertainment/arts-entertainment/ambroadway-will-audiences-return-to-the-great-white-way-in-september/

As Venues Reopen, Will Streamed Theater Still Have a Place?, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/08/18/theater/streaming-theater-future.html

Broadway Star Laura Osnes Denies Being Fired Over Vaccine Refusal, https://deadline.com/2021/08/laura-osnes-broadway-covid-vaccine-refusal-1234816313/

Musicians Union Ratifies Back-To-Work Agreement With Broadway League, https://deadline.com/2021/08/broadway-musicians-union-broadway-league-agreement-1234816642/

Broadway comes back with new investors, bold plans, https://news.yahoo.com/show-must-broadway-comes-back-110151557.html

Should Broadway Really Open Up in September?, https://www.onstageblog.com/editorials/broadway-open-up-september

Museum of Broadway now set to open next summer, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/08/16/museum-of-broadway-now-set-to-open-next-summer/

The Case For Grosses, https://www.theatrely.com/post/the-case-for-grosses-opinion

Broadway sets terms for prorated pay for actors, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/08/13/broadway-sets-terms-for-prorated-pay-for-actors-stage-managers/

John Gore Organization and Black Theatre Coalition partner for new fellowship program, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/08/17/john-gore-organization-and-black-theatre-coalition-partner-for-new-fellowship-program/

'Wicked' names Christina Alexander Director of Social Responsibility, https://broadwaynews.com/2021/08/16/wicked-names-christina-alexander-director-of-social-responsibility/

David Milberg, A Financier with a Broadway Dream Come True, https://washingtonindependent.com/david-milberg-a-financier-with-a-broadway-dream-come-true/

Lincoln Center Hopes a $20 Million Donation Will Help Fuel a Revival, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/08/17/arts/lincoln-center-donation.html

COVID-19 vaccine mandates should extend to actors onstage, https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/story/2021-08-19/covid-vaccination-mandate-actors-theater-broadway

Chicago theaters requiring proof of vax, negative COVID tests, masks, https://chicago.suntimes.com/2021/8/17/22628755/chicago-theaters-proof-of-vax-negative-covid-tests-masks

How streaming Broadway shows could change theater forever, https://www.app.com/story/entertainment/theater/2021/08/18/stream-broadway-shows-could-change-live-theater-forever/5481391001/

'Hamilton' Makes Emotional Return to Los Angeles Theater, https://variety.com/2021/music/news/hamilton-show-los-angeles-return-1235043816/

Theater Director With Exaggerated Résumé Quits, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/08/16/theater/christopher-massimine-pioneer-theater.html

Theatres Restaff, But Who Gets to Come Back?, https://www.americantheatre.org/2021/08/16/theatres-restaff-but-who-gets-to-come-back/

Can theatre clean up its act on mental health?, https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2021/aug/13/there-was-a-distinct-lack-of-help-theatre-mental-health

Quebec's box-office subsidies keep theatres thinking big in the pandemic, https://www.theglobeandmail.com/arts/theatre-and-performance/article-quebecs-box-office-subsidies-have-kept-theatres-thinking-big-in-the/

Andrew Cuomo musical by Hank Morris headed to Off-Broadway, https://nypost.com/2021/08/19/andrew-cuomo-musical-a-turtle-on-a-fence-post-headed-to-broadway/

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on August 20, 2021 5:35 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Sports News for the Week of August 20th.

The next post in this blog is Week In Review.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.