« Sports News for the Week Ending June 3rd | Main | Depp Snatches American Victory From the English Jaws of Defeat »

Theater News for the Week Ending June 3rd

By Bennett Liebman

'Almost Famous' coming to Broadway in the fall, https://www.nydailynews.com/snyde/ny-almost-famous-broadway-cameron-crowe-20220602-qawk243zznbhxbypm2jidflvhy-story.html

New, diverse Broadway leadership helps change the theater landscape, https://www.marketplace.org/2022/05/30/will-new-diverse-leadership-help-bring-cultural-change-to-broadway/

With Cameras on Every Phone, Will Broadway's Nude Scenes Survive?, https://www.nytimes.com/2022/06/01/arts/broadway-nudity-phone-cameras.html

Hitting the Right Notes When Setting History to Song, https://www.nytimes.com/2022/05/27/theater/history-theater-suffs-paradise-square.html?smid=tw-nytimesarts&smtyp=cur

The 2022 Tony Awards could be a boon for Broadway's box office, https://broadwaynews.com/2022/05/31/the-2022-tony-awards-could-be-a-boon-for-broadways-box-office/

'Death Of A Salesman' Revival Finds Broadway Home, Sets Opening, https://deadline.com/2022/06/death-of-a-salesman-broadway-revival-wendell-pierce-sharon-d-clarke-hudson-theatre-opening-date-1235036007/

Broadway box office holds steady in first week of 2022-2023 season, https://broadwaynews.com/2022/06/01/broadway-box-office-holds-steady-in-first-week-of-2022-2023-season/

Andre de Shields Reflects on Hadestown Run, https://www.today.com/popculture/popculture/andre-de-shields-leaving-hadestown-interview-rcna30458

This Broadway Season, High Risk Came With High Reward, https://www.vogue.com/article/broadway-season-risk-dana-h-a-strange-loop-potus

Ruth Negga on Ireland, Broadway, Macbeth and the future, https://www.irishcentral.com/opinion/cahirodoherty/ruth-negga-ireland-broadway-macbeth-future

Jesse Tyler Ferguson Reflects On A Most Unusual Broadway Season, https://deadline.com/2022/06/jesse-tyler-ferguson-tony-awards-broadway-take-me-out-deadline-interview-1235035222/

A STRANGE LOOP Partners With Meta, https://www.broadwayworld.com/article/A-STRANGE-LOOP-Partners-With-Meta-to-Launch-New-AR-Effect-on-Facebook-Instagram-for-Pride-20220602

Larissa FastHorse to become first female Native American playwright on Broadway, https://broadwaynews.com/2022/06/03/larissa-fasthorse-to-become-first-female-native-american-playwright-on-broadway/

Summer theater is cropping up in unexpected places, https://www.washingtonpost.com/theater-dance/2022/06/02/summer-theater-outdoors/

Maryland tax credit incentive bill passes benefitting national tours and pre-Broadway tryouts, https://broadwaynews.com/2022/06/02/maryland-tax-credit-incentive-bill-passes-benefitting-national-tours-and-pre-broadway-tryouts/

Prize-winning Texas drama teacher to get special Tony Award, https://www.startribune.com/prize-winning-texas-drama-teacher-to-get-special-tony-award/600178537/

In Arkansas, a New Festival, and a New Way of Doing Things, https://www.americantheatre.org/2022/06/01/in-arkansas-a-new-festival-and-a-new-way-of-doing-things/

The Black Actors Guild showed its teeth, https://denvergazette.com/arts-entertainment/the-black-actors-guild-showed-its-teeth-john-moore/article_03be66cc-de93-11ec-a56b-c31efd47a88c.html

Lin-Manuel Miranda to join 'Freestyle Love Supreme' cast, https://www.inquirer.com/columnists/freestyle-love-supreme-philadelphia-lin-manuel-miranda-20220601.html

Strike First, Strike Hard: How 'The Karate Kid' Became a Musical, https://www.nytimes.com/2022/06/01/theater/karate-kid-musical.html?smid=tw-nyttheater&smtyp=cur

The Subtext: Lynn Nottage, Learning From Every Job, https://www.americantheatre.org/2022/05/31/the-subtext-lynn-nottage-learning-from-every-job/

See Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson Visit Opening Night of A.R.T.'s 1776, https://www.playbill.com/article/see-judge-ketanji-brown-jackson-visit-opening-night-of-a-r-t-s-1776

Theater abounds on Chicago's stages this summer, https://chicago.suntimes.com/summer-guide/2022/6/1/23131578/summer-guide-2022-theater-things-to-do-chicago-stages-entertainment

Look inside the mind of an Orlando theater director or three, https://www.orlandosentinel.com/entertainment/arts-and-theater/os-et-orlando-theater-directors-forum-20220602-wg67wlkcmrg3vfxwiwen6ylozi-story.html

Review: Amy Adams in a Too-Fragile 'Glass Menagerie, https://www.nytimes.com/2022/06/01/theater/amy-adams-glass-menagerie.html?smid=tw-nyttheater&smtyp=cur

Stage fright: why has British theatre still not recovered from Covid?, https://www.telegraph.co.uk/theatre/what-to-see/stage-fright-has-british-theatre-still-not-recovered-covid/

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on June 3, 2022 1:51 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Sports News for the Week Ending June 3rd.

The next post in this blog is Depp Snatches American Victory From the English Jaws of Defeat.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.